Different Ways of Learning a Language Online

3-4 days ago, some one asked me on Linkedin if I know any good website where one can learn a language online. I sent her the links of my previous posts. I introduced you a couple of online learning tool before but after answering her question I got more curious and I came across this web site on internet: http://www.readwriteweb.com. Some time ago, they published a post about the online language software and websites. I checked all the websites they recommended; however, some of them are not working anymore. I have just pasted the recommendations of readwriteweb.com. I found some of them quite interesting and useful. If you want to learn a language online, I’m sure you will like one of the following links!

– Mango Languages: 12 different online language courses presented in conversational format with prices starting at free.

– Vocabulix: Free vocab building lessons in Spanish, German and English, as well as other languages, with a baked in social network.

– Pod NetworkSpanishpod – Frenchpod – Chinesepod – Free online lessons in three languages.

– BBC Languages: A host of language learning tools and self-contained online courses from the BBC.

– eLanguageSchool.net: Free lessons for learning 10 different languages online.

– LiveMocha: This site combines lessons, with an online community allowing you to practice speaking with native speakers, which dovetails nicely into the next set of sites.

– xLingo: A language exchange that lets users create and share flashcards with each other.

– Palabea: Reviews of language learning software in addition to an online language exchange.

– Interpals: A large language exchange from a popular penpal social network.

– Mixxer: A free language exchange using Skype built by Dickinson College.

– TT4You: A free global language exchange site.

– Language Buddy: A free language exchange with 115 supported languages.

– Convesation Exchange: Text and voice chat, email, or face-to-face meetings can bet set up via Language Buddy to improve your conversational skills.

– Lingozone: Build vocab skills by playing game of Word Ladder and Hangman, while making friends with whom to practice speaking.

– Language Exchange Network: Think Craigslist for language learning; this site has super-simple language exchange classified listings.

– MyLanguageExchange: One of the oldest online language exchanges (this site was a Yahoo! Internet Life pick in 2001), it claims over 1 million members speaking 115 different languages.

 

Visit the website.

Visit our Facebook page for more posts about languages.

You can also follow me on Twitter.

8 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by daliniana on June 11, 2012 at 21:01

    Very good list of resources! I would like to add one more, Busuu.com. They are a Madrid-based company who created a successful online language-learning community offering interactive lessons, courses, and conversations with native speakers all over the world for at least a dozen languages. Users can join for free, or they can upgrade to a premium account, if they wish. I myself have been using the free version for over a year now and am very pleased with the various options available, which include correction of grammar exercises by native speakers. Once you set your learning goals, you can learn at your own pace, and it is fun!

    Reply

  2. you may want to check out duolingo.com

    Reply

  3. Another very informative post here! Thanks for sharing those links. I’ll gonna share those links as well to my friends who are planning to learn different languages online. Very timely post, indeed!

    Reply

  4. hmm, will go through the list. 😀

    Reply

  5. Posted by Zeynep Çetiner on August 2, 2012 at 08:59

    you may want to check out bursuu.com, too

    Reply

  6. Posted by Zeynep Çetiner on August 2, 2012 at 09:00

    typing error, sorry. It should have been busuu.com 🙂

    Reply

  7. Posted by Safaa on September 13, 2012 at 06:37

    I love learning languages, I leaned English, Japanese and Arabic before, I’m learning Spanish now, I prefer to learn from sites that are specializing in teaching one language, I think this is good, I’m happy because I speak Arabic as a native, LAFLWSP was one of the greatest sites, that is teaching Arabic. since they aren’t so much sites are teaching Arabic like french or Spanish. http://www.laflwsp.com

    Reply

  8. […] Clearing up the Top 10 Myths About Translation Report on the Harry Potter Panel of Translators Different Ways of Learning a Language Online The Funny Grammar Guide to Graffiti Part 2 1 Linguist, 3 Questions with Valeria Aliperta How to […]

    Reply

Leave a comment