Learning a New Language: Acronyms

At first, I was planning to talk about the acronyms of EU that confuses us a lot. Considering the translations of these acronyms as well, there are thousands of them, which is like another new language. On internet, I was searching a list of acronyms that I can use in this article then I came across to another marvelous web site: Acronym Finder!

It is amazing because it finds acronyms in every language. There is more! It also explains what the acronym stands for.

Let me explain this with an example. I wrote in the search box TFF (Turkish Football Federation). The web site gave me the list of the names that TFF stands for. I found Turkish Football Federation and when I clicked on it, it also gave me brief information about TFF! When I wrote TBMM (Türkiye Büyük Millet Meclisi), I also gave me the English translation of the full name .

It is very useful in our translations.

Visit our Facebook page for more content.

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by ziad nasser on December 11, 2011 at 06:48

    Appreciate so much such a wonderful site, have a nice day

    Reply

  2. Posted by Rufus on December 11, 2011 at 17:20

    I have visited the site and, wow! It’s amazing how many acronyms, abbreviations and initialisms there are. I think this is an extremely important site for all translators owing to the fact that acronyms and abbreviations pose substantial challenge to many translators and interpreters.

    Reply

  3. sometimes it takes hours to find out what an inscrutable acronym stands for! this is of great help in reducing painstaking research time… thanks!

    Reply

  4. Thank you for sharing this info! Sometimes acronyms can be really difficult to find and you might spend a long time searching for them. I believe this site will turn pretty useful.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Ines Swaney on December 25, 2011 at 23:06

    Heard this while watching TV in the US:

    This is the NFL on CBS brought to you by GMC.

    Perfectly understandable by a typical US-born viewer… but imagine a foreign-born visitor trying to figure out this out in a few seconds!

    ““““““““““““`
    (Just think: five acronyms in the first two lines I wrote)

    Reply

  6. Posted by Ines Swaney on December 25, 2011 at 23:08

    … I meant to say: “trying to figure this out in a few seconds”

    Reply

Leave a comment