Interesting Old English Words

Screen Shot 2014-01-30 at 00.24.41When I watch a movie or TV series, I just can’t help but looking up the words I don’t know- even if I understand the meaning from the context. It is an urge to see the exact equivalence and to take for as they are. 🙂 I guess it is just an old habit from my of high school days

Anyway, sometimes I come across with such interesting words that I just don’t understand how people naturally use them in an everyday conversation! The other day I’ve heard the one “egrote” and I couldn’t find it in an English-Turkish dictionary. I googled it and came across to this interesting article. 

I’ve selected the ones that I like most. You can always click the link at the bottom to read the whole article. 🙂

To egrote: to fake sickness to avoid work. (I have a modern reaction to this verb: seems legit :D)

To fudgel: to pretend to work when you’re not actually doing anything at all. (Word used in the eighteenth century. Too bad it’s no longer used, because it is really useful!)

A pedeconference: to hold a meeting while walking. (I can definitely see myself using this term!)

To uhtceare:  to wake up before dawn and be unable to go back to sleep because you’re worried about something.

Twitter-light: twilight. (This term was used in the early seventeenth century, although it seems quite modern. It actually has nothing to do with social media and is a really romantic word that refers to the hours as the sun setting)

Thanks for the article writer who has compiled such an interesting list. You can visit the blog and see more interesting old English words here. 

Visit our Facebook page to read and enjoy more posts about languages!

You can also follow me on Twitter.

What about learning more about AIM Consulting?

One response to this post.

  1. I thiink this is ammong the most significant information for me.
    Andd i’m glad reading your article. But want to remark on few general things, The
    web site style iis wonderful, the articles is really excellent : D.
    Good job, cheers

    Reply

Leave a Reply

