Untranslatable “Love Words”

bee_my_honey_by_toxicpineapple-d5f6le1 It is interesting that we have tens of “love words” that we use everyday. I call them “love words” in quotation because I couldn’t find a better phrase for them. 🙂

The other day, some of my friends call me as “gülüm”. When we translate this into English, it is “my rose”. It sounds quite funny when translated. 🙂 “Gül” means “rose” in Turkish and we use it as a “love word” among family members or close friends. Similarly there is “kuzum”, the translation is “my sheep”. 🙂 I know how funny it sounds.

Then I just thought the English “love words”. There is “honey” and we directly use it in Turkish but it is a recent usage – probably just pass from English with the new generation and television.

I’m sure there are tens of untranslatable “love words” in your language as well… What about sharing them with us? 🙂


Visit
 our Facebook page to read and enjoy more posts about languages!

You can also follow me on Twitter.

Let’s get connected more! We are on Google+.

What about learning more about AIM Consulting?

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Hazal Didem YENER on August 25, 2013 at 11:35

    There’s “aşkım” in Turkish, which can be translated into English as “my love”. I can’t think of a direct translation or one correct translation of “sweetheart” into Turkish or any other language. “Hayatım” in Turkish is one of the most popular words sweethearts call each other, but when translated into English it is “my life”. It sounds okay, but it still feels like there’s something missing. Would you call your love “my life” all the time?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

