Have Your Ever Dreamed in a Different Language?

The other night, I spoke French in my dream. It is quite weird because although I can understand the written material and I can write, my speaking is simply poor. However, in my dream, I was speaking French quite fluently and communicating French people. Then I searched this on internet and I came up with many discussions. Some people think that it means you begin to accomplish this language and to internalize it. However some linguistics say that it is nothing more than seeing a beautiful view with all the details. 🙂 I am quite confused because in my country, too, it is believed that when you see you speaking in another language in your dream, it means that you reach a significant level in this language.

I’vc also found a TEDx video about the issue. If you have time, I highly recommend you to watch it.

I would appreciate if you share your ideas and experiences about the issue. 🙂

Visit our Facebook page to read and enjoy more posts about languages!

You can also follow me on Twitter.

Let’s get connected more! We are on Google+.

 

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Hazal Didem YENER on January 7, 2013 at 21:24

    Nice video. I often dream in languages unknown to man. Do they say anything about that one?

    Reply

  2. Posted by Corinna on January 10, 2013 at 23:01

    Dreaming in a different language is a good thing…. I remember coming over to the States at the tender age of 15 refusing to learn English because people were so fat in the US and ate big buckets full of ice cream (German teenage mentality)…. after about one month of resisting speaking the English language (although I did come to the US for that purpose), I dreamt in English one night, and the rest is history…. when I start translating in my dreams (I work as an English-German translator), I know that my poor brain is overworked and I need to chill….

    Reply

  3. In dreams I frequently hear/speak the other languages I know well. More interestingly, though, I have also *learnt* another language while dreaming. OK, not a whole language (dream on! despite the best claims of those firms selling under-pillow speakers etc.), but a language where my knowledge was rather rudimentary (Korean). In my dream I used this language while speaking to a couple of children, and made a grammatical mistake, whereupon they corrected me. If only that could happen all the time!

    Reply

  4. I dreamt in English last week. In the dream I run into an old school friend and we spoke in English. I realised that was weird, but I just couldn’t change to Catalan. On the other side, I do lots of thinking in English since my ex is English, we lived together for one year and I work in an English school full of native teachers. That is, job issues and most of the house stuff are connected to English somehow in my mind and I seem to not be able to change this. So yes, dating a native is the way.

    Reply

  5. Thank you for sharing the video with us. I am sure it is very interesting and I am really anxious to watch it as soon as I have some spare time. Anyway, in my native country (Romania) there is the same belief regarding dreaming in a foreign language, that is, it should mean that we have reached a significant level in that language. But I have grown to really doubt that as I have also dreamed, besides the languages I speak, in Japanese, which I have never studied in my life, nor have I ever been to Japan… 🙂 Anyway, as I was saying, I am very curious to hear what they are saying in the video.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

