Make More Rational Decisions by Using a Foreign Language

mywToday, I read a very interesting article and I wanted to share it with you. It says when you use a foreign language during a decision making process, you come up with more rational ideas. Do you think this can be true?

I can only say that languages can change the way of thinking. 4 years ago, I went to USA for 3,5 months. After 1 or 2 months, I realized that I was thinking in English, not in Turkish. My dreams, my ideas… everything was in English. I don’t know the scientific explanation but I really felt that my way of thinking changed. I guess the difference of sentence structure also affects.

Anyway 🙂 I quoted the parts that I like most, so you can always click the link at the bottom to read the whole article:

Our primary language is one rooted in emotion, and so our decisions are heavily influenced by the emotions surrounding the words we read or hear.

Sian Beilock, Ph. D, author of Choke says, when people make decisions in a foreign language, their decisions tend to be less rooted in emotional reactions. Interestingly, speaking a foreign language might come especially in handy when people find themselves having to make a high-stakes decision – say about savings or investments.  Under stress, then, we tend to revert to our gut feelings or emotions to drive decisions (and not necessarily for the better). What this new research suggests is that problem solving in a foreign tongue might actually help guard against biased decision making by pushing us back to our more analytical and systematic reasoning abilities instead.

Click here to read the rest.

Visit our Facebook page to read and enjoy more posts about languages!

You can also follow me on Twitter.

Let’s get connected more! We are on Google+.

Leave a Reply

