Animal Sounds in Different Languages

2 years ago, I went to Romania for an EU project. We were waiting for the shuttle outside the hostel and there was a stray dog that was watching us from a distance. One of my Romanian friends said something like “ham ham”, I am not sure now. It was a very interesting experience for me because since then I used to think that we all hear more or less the similar sounds when a dog barks. However, I searched this on the internet and I came up with very different and interesting results. For example in Korean, a dog’s bark sounds like “meong meong”. It sounds like a cat to me (as a Turkish native). You can find pages of animal sounds on the internet but I have found a very practical list on www.laits.utexas.edu and I’m pasting it here. I hope you enjoy my post. I think this piece of information can raise awareness and can be useful in our translations. Since this list does not include all the languages, if you think you have a different sound for any animal in your native language, feel free to share it here or on our Facebook page!

For more posts like this, visit our Facebook page! : http://www.facebook.com/aimconsultingtr

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Stanislava Ivanova on March 14, 2012 at 19:16

    I see you are missing Bulgarian. they would be as follows: cat – myau myau, dog – bau bau, duck – kva kva, cow – moo

    Reply

  2. Posted by Lee Eisenberg on October 26, 2012 at 19:24

    I wonder what it is for owls and frogs.

    Do rabbits make any sound at all?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

