Great Comments, Great Differences

 

Last week, I published a post ‘Does Every Word Have a Subtext?‘. On Linkedin, I got very rich comments and I would like to share a couple of them with you. All these different comments show that we have different approaches to a very same subject. All the comments were great; however, I do not want to make it too long. Here are the comments that I chose:

Karolina Socha-Duśko: “Outside the formal context, where the rules are laid out clearly, it is no just language we must deal with, but also all the social and personal subtleties that vary from person to person, from culture to culture, and so on.
And I also think, that in the informal contexts smileys do a great job as a (poor) substitute of the non-verbal content.

(I just deleted half of the adjectives I had previously typed).”

Dayna Lamothe: “I think that moving past the fear of misinterpretation and subtext is one of the biggest challenges facing new translators.”

Bruno Fonseca: “The video is quite funny and I believe people relate to it more or less, however I try to write as I speak, i.e without thinking, I even avoid to “proofread” my lines otherwise I’ll be spending half an hour to rewrite three sentences, and time is all we have ain’t it?…”

José Carlos G. Ribeiro: “I like a quote from an interview with one of Brazil’s greatest authors, which I translated and posted in my website:

‘Writing should be done in the same manner as the washerwomen of Alagoas practice their craft. They start with a first wash(ing), soaking the dirty clothing by the bank of the lagoon or stream; they wring the piece of clothing, soak it again, and then wring it once more. They then add indigo, soap and wring once, and then twice. Then they rinse, and soak it again, now splashing the water onto the cloth with their hands. They beat the cloth on a slab or clean stone, they wring it again and then one more time, they wring it until no water drops from the cloth anymore. Only after they have done all this do they hang the clean piece of clothing to dry, on a string or clothes line. Whoever goes into writing should do the very same thing. The word was not meant to embellish or to spark like fake gold; the word was meant to say.’ (Graciliano Ramos, during an interview, in 1948) / An author is a translator of him/herself!”

Visit our Facebook page.

 

Leave a Reply

