The Glory of Speaking Many Languages

This video always makes me laugh. This is a part from early Indiana Jones series. Although some scientists say that there is a limit of learning languages, others claim that one can learn as long as he/she tries hard. I agree with the former claim because I have met many people so far who said “I know 5-6-7-8 languages”. When you want them to speak fluently, they just stop there. When we say “speaking a language”, we mean the communication without any problem. I can say “I know English, but it is nor perfect”. I think many of you agree with me because we still hesitate using some certain phrases or verbs in English. I can write, read and understand French, but I can only talk about daily matters. This does not mean that I know French. Similarly I can write, read and understand Spanish; however, I can’t go beyond saying “Hello, how are you, how old are you?” etc. I do not say people can only speak 2 or 3 languages fluently but I think there is certain limit with regard to the potential of our brains.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Koprinka Tchervenkova on July 26, 2011 at 17:56

    Oh, it is very amusing and very real! I have noticed, though, that not many people can say that they speak a language perfectly. George Mikes writes, ” After 30 years spent in England, married to an Englishwoman, a friend recently said to me, ‘Oh, George, you speak perfect accent without the slightest English!'”

    Reply

  2. Posted by Hazal Didem YENER on August 26, 2011 at 20:10

    This is amusing. I think one can learn as many languages as he/she wants as long as one tries hard. All it takes is dedication and perseverance.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

